View our Winter 2024 Newsletter

OPPA May Meetings

May 14th 6-8pm Central
UHS Resident and Career Planning Webinar

Topics are 1) Contracts and Negotiations and 2) Mistakes to Avoid During the Hiring Process


May 21st 7pm Central
MOC Journal Club (Zoom)

The articles to be discussed are “The Effect of Delaying Treatment of First-Episode Psychosis” and “50 Years of Research of Schizophrenia.” These will be provided after you register.

Click here to register in for this meeting.  After registering, you will receive an email with information about joining the meeting.


OPPA President – Tessa Manning, MD

Tessa Manning, MD, is Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the OU-TU School of Community Medicine and serves as the Associate Residency Program Director and Medical Director for Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry. She completed her medical degree and psychiatry residency at UT Southwestern Medical School in Dallas.

Dr. Manning is very active in OPPA, serving as Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force and as Co-Chair of the Legislative Committee. In addition, she is a member of the Executive Council and the CME Committee.  Full Bio

APA 2023 Advocacy Day

Dr. Eric Reynolds and Dr. Sara Coffey had the  opportunity to attend the American Psychiatric Association’s 2023 Advocacy Day representing the Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association. The event was held October 16 and 17 in Washington, DC. Christine Cotter, new OPPA co-director also attended the conference.

This annual event gave each a unique opportunity to lobby members of Congress on issues that affect Oklahoma’s patients and practice of psychiatry.    More Information

Congratulations to Our New APA Fellows!

JaHannah Jamelarin, MD, FAPA

Dr. JaHannah Jamelarin is the Chief Integrated Health Officer at Good Shepherd Community Clinic in Ardmore, OK. In this role, she oversees the integration of behavioral health and wellness services to optimize patient care and outcomes. She obtained her Doctor of Medicine degree from Wright State University’s Boonshoft School of Medicine and completed her General Psychiatry Residency at the University of Cincinnati’s Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience. In addition, she holds a Master’s of Business Administration from Oklahoma City University.

Ethan Lindsey, M.D, LFAPA

Dr. Lindsey has taught at the OU Department of Psychiatry 32 years. He is currently the Medical Director of SW Behavioral Health Center in Lawton.


Sarah McClanahan, DO, FAPA

Sarah E. McClanahan, D.O. is completed her Bachelor of Science degree in Biochemistry at Oklahoma Baptist University prior to receiving her Doctor of Osteopathy degree at the Oklahoma State University.  Following completion of her medical training, she completed 4 years of training in general psychiatry at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine, also serving as chief resident.  Dr. McClanahan served as Medical Service Corp Officer in the Oklahoma National Guard from 2009-2013 and during residency as Behavioral Health Office in the 120th Engineer Battalion of the U.S. Army from 2013 to 2017.

Sara Coffey, DO, FAPA

Dr. Coffey is an Associate Clinical Professor and Interim Chair of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences. Dr. Coffey completed her adult psychiatry residency at the University of Chicago and her child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship at the Cambridge Health Alliance a Harvard Medical School Affiliate. During her adult psychiatry training, Dr. Coffey served as the chair of the Public Health Committee (residents’ section) for the American Medical Association. She served in her role as a public psychiatry fellow for the American Psychiatric Association for two years during her psychiatry training. Dr. Coffey currently serves as an APA Delegate to the American Medical Association.


Visit our Fellows page for more information





Renew Your Membership

Your OPPA membership is renewed through the APA. We recommend renewing your APA and OPPA memberships before Dec 31st of each year. After the following March 31st, members who have not renewed will need to reinstate.

There are several ways to renew your membership! Please contact the APA through one of the following: