

Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association

OFFICERS 2023-2024

President Tessa Manning, MD

President-Elect Robyn Cowperthwaite, MD

> Vice President Rachel Dalthorp, MD

> > Secretary Jed Perdue, MD

Treasurer Gabriel Cuka, MD

Parliamentarian Shree Vinekar, MD

APA Assembly Delegates Harold Ginzburg, MD Shree Vinekar, MD

> **1st Councilor** Britta Ostermeyer, MD

> **2nd Councilor** Shannon Thomas, DO

> > **3rd Councilor** Jason Beaman, DO

Councilors-At-Large Jenny Boyer, MD Melanie Barrett, MD Tiffany Bartel, DO Masooda Burki, MD Bryan Cates, DO Hashib Faruque, MD Heather Geis, MD Harold Ginzburg, MD S. Jay Lensgraf, MD Joseph Michie, MD Haiwang Tang, MD Ashley Walker, MD

P.O. Box 6887 Moore, OK 73153-6887 405.360.5066

oklapsychiatry@gmail.com www.oklapsychiatry.org

Opposition Position Statement Health Information Exchange July 2023

Patients should also be able to enjoy the care coordination benefits provided by EHRs and health information exchanges (HIEs) without having to share all or none of their information, i.e., they should be able to identify classes of data for more restricted access such as their mental health records.

Medical professionals, including those who are employed and work for organizations, should have the ability to block certain records from transmission to the HIE, if they feel this is needed.

Patients must be made aware that their medical records are being shared with the HIE and given as much control over their information as they have with paperbased records. Electronic health record design and implementation should leverage technology to give more flexible approaches to access sensitive information.

Government organizations or other third parties should not be able to inappropriately access electronic health information by bypassing built-in security and encryption features of EHRs and HIEs.

There should be transparency and equity in the issuing of grants to medical professionals to pay for connectivity fees to the HIE.